top of page

Studio Highlights

The Bowling Green State University Saxophone Class has won impressive honors and awards in locations all over the globe.  If you need a reason to "brag" about our studio, here are a few facts about recent competition activity.

Fulbright Scholars

Preston Duncan, Christopher Ford, Yiannis Miralis , Ryan Muncy,
Joseph Murphy, Beth Shirk, Scotty Stepp, David Wegehaupt
(James Fusik was an accepted scholar but did not accept the honor)

BGSU Concerto Winners

(39 Winners Since 1979)

David Babich, Matthew Balensuela, Christopher Bartz, Phillip Berg, Christopher Blossom, Chi-Him Chik, Susan Cook, Christopher Corde, Preston Duncan, Eva Egolf, Noa Even, James Fusik,  Xiao Han, Zach Hinson, Drew Hosler, Sheldon Johnson, Jonathan Kierspe, Jacob Kopcienski, Steve Leffue, Dennis Lindsay, Wesley Miller, Lori Moorehead, Lee Morrison, Chris Murphy, Joseph Murphy, Andrew Park, Russell Peterson, Bryan Polacek, Kirk O’Riordan, David Rice, Erin Rogers, Phil Wells, James Umble, Carey Valente, Yu Wen Wang, Lindsey Welp, Carl Wiggins, Theresa Witmer, Aiwen Zhang

National Fischoff Competition

Gold Prize Winner (2005) – Blue Square Quartet
Gold Prize Winner (2000) – Lithium Saxophone Quartet
3rd Prize Winner (1995) – Transcontinental Saxophone Quartet
Gold Prize Winner (1992) – Black Swamp Quartet

International Geneva Concours

Top Prize Winner and Soloist with Swiss Romande (1995) – Russell Peterson

MTNA National Solo Competition

1st Prize Winner (2002) – Michael Ibrahim
1st Prize Winner (1998) – Preston Duncan
1st Prize Winner (1995) – Russell Peterson

MTNA National Chamber Music Competition

3rd Prize Winner (2005) – Blue Square Quartet
1st Prize Winner (2002) – Bohica Quartet
1st Prize Winner (1996) – Transcontinental Saxophone Quartet

Coleman Award for Woodwinds or Brass

1st Prize Winner (2002) – Bohica Quartet
1st Prize Winner (2001) – Fifth Generation Quartet

National Saxophone Competition (NASA)

1st Prize Winner (2004) - Michael Ibrahim
1st Prize Winner (1998) – Scotty Stepp
3rd Prize Winner (1998) – Preston Duncan
1st Prize Winner (1996) – Kevin Towner

Adolphe Sax International Competition

Semifinalist (2002) – Michael Ibrahim
Semifinalist (1998) – Scotty Stepp

Hoagg National Young Artist Competition

2ND Prize Winner and Soloist with Houston Symphony (1992) – Susan Cook

Agnes Fowler Competition

3rd Prize Winner (2005) – David Babich
2nd Prize Winner (2001) – Lee Morrison

William Byrd Solo Competition

Honorable Mention (2005) – Ryan Muncy

Richardson Competition

1st Prize Winner (2010) – James Fusik

Arriaga National Chamber Music Competition

1st Prize Winner (2011) – Harmonium Quartet
(Chang, Conn, Johnson, Stegeman)

Lima Symphony Competition

1st Prize Winner (2015) - Chi-Him Chik
1st Prize Winner (2014) - Xiao Han
2nd Prize Winner (2014) - Aiwen Zhang
1st Prize Winner (2005) – Ryan Muncy
2nd Prize Winner (2005) – David Babich
1st Prize Winner (1984) - James Umble

Ukraine International Saxophone Competition

4TH Prize Winner (2000) – Jessica Maxfield

Stockhausen Courses (Kurten)

Co-Winner for Interpretation (2010) - James Fusik

Tuesday Musical Scholarship Prize

Top Prize Winner (2021) - Josh Tuttle

Elise Hall Competition for Emerging Saxophonists

2nd Prize Winner (2021) - Claire Salli
3rd Prize Winner (2021) - Lindsey Welp

BGSU Wayland Chamber Music Competition

- 2nd Prize                 Graduate Division (2021)                 Rosaurum Qt (Tuttle, Campbell, Ng, Meltzer)

- 2nd Prize                 Graduate Competition (2018)           Segetem Qt (Hamm, Salli, Kierspe, Piyaphon A.)

- 1st Prize                   Graduate Division (2016)                Gravity Q (Heslip, Kuhlman, Chik, Murphy)

- 2nd Prize                 Graduate Division (2016)                 Giris Q (Delouis, Zhang, West, Tanner)

- 2nd Prize                 Undergraduate Competition (2016)    Enohpoxas Qt.                                                                               (Buck, Bowser, Hostetler, Semanovich)                  

 - 2nd Prize                Undergraduate Competition (2015)    Blues 151                                                                                       (Chi-Him Chik, Greenwell, Kato, Kuhlman)

 - 1st Prize                  Graduate Division (2014)                 Limbo Q (with Emily Schwartz)

 - 2nd Prize                 Graduate Division (2014)                 Sidu Qt (Baer, Zhang, Tu, Zoulek)                       - 2nd Prize                 Undergraduate Competition (2014)    Graduate Qt (Baer, Goodwin, Du, Zoulek)

 - 2nd Prize                 Graduate Competition (2013)           Melt Snow  (Du, Zhang, Liu)

 - 1st Prize                   Undergraduate Division (2012)        Gigi Quartet (Brown, Nicolia, Charpenter, McEvoy)

 - 1st Prize                   Undergraduate Division (2011)         Four Corners Qt  (Han, Zhang, Whitt, Hurd)

 - 1st Prize                   Graduate Division (2011)              WCJC Quartet   (Chang, Conn, Johnson, Stegeman)

 - 1st Prize                   Undergraduate Division (2010)  Borealis Quartet (Frakes, Lang, Hinson, Kopcienski)

 - 1st Prize                   Graduate Division (2010)           WCJC Quartet  (Conn, Wiggins, Chang, Johnson)

 - 1st Prize                   Undergraduate Division (2009)     Quartet Du Jour (Green, Hinson, Park, Sevel)

 - 1st Prize                   Graduate Division (2009)            Dodecahedron Qt  (Fusik, Li, Wiggins, Braet)

 - 1st Prize                   UndergraduateDivision (2008)       H3O Quartet (Heller, Hummer, Hachey, O’Shea)

 - 2nd Prize                 Graduate Division (2008)      Volunteer Quartet (Fusik, Diegert, Patayanikorn, Braet)

International Jean-Marie Londeix Competition- Thailand

Semifinalist (2014) - Chi-Him Chik
3rd Prize Winner (2011) – Noa Even
4th Prize Winner (2008)- Sean Patayanikorn
Semifinalist (2008) - Joel Diegert

Military Service Bands

US Navy Band - David Babich
US Navy Band - Adrienne Welker
US Field Band - Chris Blossom
US Navy Band (New Orleans) - Justin Church
Maritime Forces Pacific - Kris Covlin
Shape International Band (Brussels)- Kollister Williams
Great Britain Military Guard - Andy Braet

bottom of page